Denise O’Hagan

Messages from the Embers: From Devastation to Hope

Edited by Julia Kaylock and Denise O'Hagan

Australian Bushfire Poetry Anthology

  Black Quill Press, October 2020
  Paperback, 256 pp, 229 x 152 mm
  ISBN 978-0-6480020-6-2 
  RRP AUD$ tbc

Messages from the Embers brings together 118 poetic voices and visions into 138 poems that detail and articulate the devastating 2019–2020 bushfire crisis.

While some writers address the broad political and social scope of the catastrophe, others take a microscope to the localised and domestic effects during a time when the fragility of every structure and living creature was magnified. Beginning with the origins of fire, to the burning to the ashen aftermath, this anthology is courageous in its expression and acknowledgement of the multilayered loss felt by so many. Within several of these poems is a resilient undercurrent of hopefulness, and a will to emerge from damage and drive a more perceptive way forward.

Foreword by Amanda Anastasi, Poet in Residence, Monash Climate Change Communication Research Hub

All profits from this publication will be directed to BlazeAid.

Includes foreword, backdrop, introduction, acknowledgments and biographies.